Ben Nye Translucent Powder in Topaz…

Heeeeey Blushers!!! Hope everyone’s week started out right, and if not….The sun will come out tomorrow(singing out of tune) lol!! But I do wish everyone is doing ok though…

So I know quite a few of you have seen me use the Ben Nye Topaz Powder in my tutorials, and my favorites videos.  But today I’m doing a formal review for you blushers.

These powders come in several shades from the fairest to the darkest browns. I have both the Banana(yellow), and Topaz(warm orange) Powders.  However, today I’ll be featuring Topaz.

Topaz is a translucent setting powder, that has a warm orange color to it. It sets your foundation, helps a bit with oil control and gives the most flawless finish without looking chalky. I found that these Ben Nye Powders also act as correctors in a way.  You can warm up, or tone down your foundation with these. You can add it to your cream, liquid or loose powder foundations to do this. You can also use these to highlight/contour your face.  I think anyone that is about a shade darker/lighter(give or take), than me would do well with this powder.  But there are so many shades that no way is, or should be left out 🙂

I have dry skin and this never dries out my skin or accentuates the dryness at all.  The powder is very finely milled, smooth, and buttery(I know it’s a powder, but it’s butta baby)!  It leaves a beautiful, natural looking finish; it’s not quite matte, or even satin, it’s more like velvet…think of Barry White’s voice…hmmm:)   I usually use a large/medium powder brush to apply it to my face.  And while it doesn’t necessarily give more coverage to the skin, it does somewhat even out your complexion. 

       

I added a bit of home-made tinted moisturizer to my skin, and then added a small amount of Topaz.  See the difference? The lighting/flash is more prominent in the latter photo.

The only thing I don’t like about it is the packaging.  It comes in a shaker type bottle, that can get very messy, especially because the powders are so fine.  I did transfer mine to a 10 gram jar(I believe).  This gives me more control, and is better for getting a larger brush inside.

This is truly a gem! And I will definitely give it an A+ for the product, but with the packaging it drops to an…..

A-

I got mine at Nigel’s Beauty Emporium, in Los Angeles, for $5/1.5oz.  But you can find yours at these online shops:

About blushingyal

Just a simple, complicated girl, In a simple complicated world. In love with beautiful things, and beautiful people. A mommy, wife and loving life :-) Nuff Luv Blushers....Inside & Out
This entry was posted in Reviews/Overviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ben Nye Translucent Powder in Topaz…

  1. asa says:

    OMG. nigel’s is around the corner from me. i wanna try the pretty pink powder 😀

  2. Anonymous says:

    nice product. I think every one should give it a try. At least i will definately use it…

  3. Monique says:

    I just got mines in the mail!!!! Can’t wait to try it! 😀

  4. Carrie says:

    Mo.. I am going to have to get some of this….. It looks beautiful on you…

  5. Deena says:

    Hey Mo!
    Thanks so much for doing this post. I’ve been wanting to know more about Ben Nye and now I know!!! I’m going to check out Ebay and see if they have it like you mentioned. Love your blog posts love!

    -MissDeenaDiva

  6. Nickie says:

    You know what I almost had my hands on this when I went to Nigel’s along time ago, and the rep talked me out of it cause in his opinion since I have the MUFE transluscent powder according to him that is all I needed. Damn him..lol

Leave a Reply

