Ackee ‘n’ Saltfish…Yummy

  Ackee is the national fruit of Jamaica(The Island), and Ackee & Saltfish(dried/salted cod fish) is the National Dish of Jamaica.

 Ackee is usually served as breakfast, but is also often eaten for lunch or dinner.  This delicious nutrition packed meal is very easy to prepare! (Please read the ackee facts at the end, very important!)

This is a fairly easy meal to prepare, especially since I didn’t make it from scratch.  I used the imported canned ackee, while it doesn’t exactly taste the same, it’s pretty darn close.  And it takes care of my ackee fix 🙂 Ackee is usually eaten with boiled food(yams, dumplings, bananas)/fried plantains/dumplings & white rice.  Ackee is usually prepared with saltfish, but is also made with salted pork, or even chicken.  But I prepared the ackee & saltfish with dumplings, white(soft) yam, and carrots. 

What Is Needed For About 4 Servings:

  • Fresh Seasoning(chopped)- 1 large onion, 3 medium tomatoes, 2 scallion stalks, 2 garlic cloves, thyme, pimento seeds, 1/2 sweet pepper(red/green), carrot shreds, hot pepper(if you like).
  • Ground Seasoning- Black pepper, seasoning salt, salt, pepper flakes
  • 1.5lb flour—2lbs white/soft yam—4 medium-large carrots(I used carrots because I had no banana, and the kids love carrots 🙂
  • 1 can of ackee—about 1/2lb of saltfish/cod fish/bacalao

Preparation (Fish):

  1. I boiled the dried saltfish(cod fish/bacalao), to soften, and remove the salt granules. This takes about 15-35 minutes. For fillets about 10-15(after boiling starts, for both).
  2. I pour some of the salted water in another pot(food pot), so I can use the flavor/salt from the fish. I also add fresh water to the pot so the food would not be too salty 😉
  3. I then use luke warm water to cool the fish down.
  4. 

Food/Starch (Dumplings, Yam & Carrots):

  1.  While my pot(with the salted /fresh water) is on it’s way to boiling.  I knead my flour to make a dough(flour, water, salt). We prefer the dough to not be too tight, but soft enough where our teeth won’t break…lol!
  2. I clean and scrape my carrots(leave those in some water).  The soft yams will be the last to go in the pot, because they cook rather quickly.
  3. When the water in the pot begins to boil, I take pieces of the dough roll/turn/press it between my hands to make the traditional round, but flat dumplings(this requires practice). I also make some oblong ones, these I just roll back & forth. I add these one at a time.
  4. I then add my carrots, and lastly the yams. Those will be done cooking when the dumplings begin to float(this is also how you tell the dumplings are cooked)
  5. 

Ackee:

  1. While the food is boiling, and the fish is cooling.  I pick the fish(removing the skin/bones, and breaking it in to small pieces).
  2. I then add oil(Smart Balance Blends) to the pot.  When the oil is hot(just drop a piece of onion in the oil, if it sizzles, then the oil is ready) I add the seasoning(listed above), I add some black pepper, pimento seeds, seasoning salt, pepper flakes and a tad bit more salt(you can skip this).  I stir to make sure all the fresh seasonings has been coated with the powder seasoning.
  3. When the fresh seasoning have been softened a little, I then add the fish, and stir. Let that cook for about 5-7 minutes.
  4. I then add my ackee, no preparation is necessary for the ackee, because I use the imported can kind. If I were back home I would use freshly pick ackee fruit from my backyard(fresh ackee requires good preparation, as it is a poisonous fruit, in it’s raw state or if not clean/cooked properly).
  5. I stir all the ingredients together, add a bit  more pepper flakes/blackpepper to my liking, and let that cook on low-medium heat for about 15 minutes.

No turn the stove off, let the food relax for about 5-15 minutes…Then plate, and eat 🙂 Yummmmmmeeeee….

Please Click Here  For Some Info On Ackee Safety/Facts .

 

 

About blushingyal

Just a simple, complicated girl, In a simple complicated world. In love with beautiful things, and beautiful people. A mommy, wife and loving life :-) Nuff Luv Blushers....Inside & Out
This entry was posted in Mo's Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ackee ‘n’ Saltfish…Yummy

  1. Anonymous says:

    it look eatish badd.

  2. DAPHNEY says:

    Omg!! I havent had this in over a year!! Im not Jamaican, but Im Haitian and my friends grandmother would always share me a plate whenever she would cook it and call me for dinner lol…looks good Mo!!

  3. lesley says:

    yolu making me hungry i want someeeee

  4. Carrie says:

    OH MY DAMN, MO!!!! I miss this dish so much, my dad made this for me it’s my favorite and the dumplins are to die for. Can you send me some in the mail? lol!!! No I am serious though :O(

  5. April says:

    OMG!!! This made me sooooo Hungry ( yum yum)

  6. Melissa says:

    HMMM, I hungry, I haven’t had that type of yam in long time, I think I want some. Great post!

  7. Alexis says:

    OMG im sooooo hungry NOW!!! This looks so good Mo 🙂

  8. Melo says:

    yuh wicked…

    mi wah sum now…lol

    this looks so good

  9. Sherri says:

    Dat dumplin look good 🙂 I miss home.

  10. Camille says:

    Thanks for posting this! I looooovvvveee ackee and saltfish, but need much more practice. Thse picture of your plate has me practically salivating. LOL

  11. Jeneille says:

    Girl you’re killing me! LOL My mom lived in JA for 2 years so she used to make this and excoveitch (sp) fish all the time! Jerk Pork 2 di werl! lol

Leave a Reply

