MAC Mineralized Skinfinishes(MSF): Overview/Collection

  

MAC’s description: “A luxurious velvet-soft powder with high-frost metallic finish. Smoothes on: adds buffed-up highlights to cheeks, or an overall ultra-deluxe polish to the face.”     

So I love MSFs, well all the ones that I own anyway.  And use at least one, 90% of the time I put my makeup on.  Mineralized Skin Finishes are large, domed shaped, baked powders(baked in Italy), that are mostly used for blushers or highligters, but can also be used on the eyes, body, and lips.  They come in a variety of shades, swirls, textures and finishes.  However, they sometimes resemble each other, even though no two are ever alike, when they hit the skin; so it’s not necessary to own them all, and that‘s almost impossible anyway because they are mostly LE(limited edition) and usually sell out rather quickly, except for the natural finishes.  The Mineralized Skin Finish Natural are all permanent, and are used mostly for face powders.        

 MAC’s description: “A luxurious domed face powder with minerals, slowly baked to provide a dimensional yet natural-matte finish. Provides perfect low coverage. Use to set and fix foundation or as a touch-up throughout the day.”       

They can also be used as bronzers, to contour, or as highlighters(if you get a lighter/darker color than yourself).  I mostly use mine for highlighters, face powders and blush.  Though most brown girls on the darker spectrum can use them as anything they want, except as blushes.  Because most MSFs are light in color, and not deep enough for people like myself or darker.  But with that said I love them anyway, and will keep praying for Metal Rock(what looks like a deep chocolatey bronze), to be repromoted, and some deeper colors released so we can enjoy in the msf blushing fun.  Enough yappin’…..Pics pleease 🙂

 ===========================================================================================================================      

   The swatches are done heavily to show the color, especially against my brown skin.  But they apply much softer, sheer, and beautiful 🙂  

 Light MSFs    Top Row: With Flash   
  •   Petticoat is a luscious swirl of raspberry, and gold with a pink base. I can definitely use this as blush, it gives a glowy pink look, but use too much and you will become a frost ball.  It also pairs well with other pink blushes, and as a soft pink cheekbone highlight.
  • By Candlelight is one of my most used MSFs, though it looks like a light pink, it hits the skin with the most beautiful soft, golden hue. This is definitely WOC friendly, even though it doesn’t look it. If you can get your hands on this(within reason) GET IT!
  • Perfect Topping is perfect to look at, it is one of the most visually appealing MSFs. It has swirls of lavender, gold, beige, and white, with a soft pink base. And is a beautiful highlighter on light to medium dark skin. 
   Top Row: With Flash   
  •     Smooth Merge has three strips of beautiful colors.  A light pink, plummy pink, and light golden pink. I have only used this a few times, and while it’s beautiful   I  only tend to use the plummy pink color, because the golden pink is too shimmery, and the light pink is not flattering on me. It can also be used swirled together.
  •   Stereo Rose is beautiful, but not as wonderful as I expected it to be(with all the hype given to it*smh*) Stereo Rose is a beautiful rosy coral color that pairs well with orange/coral/peach blushes, while I’m not able to use this as a blush(like I thought I would), I think it’s perfect for lighter to medium tan skin. And as a nice soft highlight for darker skin.

    Top Row: With Flash      

  •  So Ceylon is a gorgeous rich, brownish bronze color. It applies a sheer color on the cheeks, and can be used as a blush/bronzer/highlighter, depending on the skin tone.
  •  Brunette is my all time favorite MSF! It has four strips of beautiful color ranging from soft light pink to a medium reddish bronze. I can rock this as a blush or highlighter, and actually get different effects depending on how I apply it. I looooove this MSF!
  •  Warm Blend is one of my newer additions, and I’ve only used it a couple of times. It has three stripes of color; a rich gold, a plummy bronze, and a light golden pink. I’ve only used the bronze, and gold color, and they are beautiful.  

 Top Row: With Flash    

  •  Sunny By Nature is also one of my faves. It has a rich, warm brown color with the smallest specs of gold and pink. I use this mostly to brighten/highlight under my eyes, my cheek bones, and other high plains on my face. I also use this as an all over face powder when I want a ‘kissed by the sun’ look.
  • MSF Natural(Dark) this is my favorite face powder to use, OF ALL TIME, it just gives the most beautiful, finished look! It can also be used as a bronzer/contour(if you get darker color) a brightener/highlighter(if you get a lighter color).  I can also use this as a foundation; I just spritz my face with a little fix+/water(we’ll talk about that another time) and buff in the powder with my favorite bronzer, and boom-boom-bang…flawless face. Love it!!

To finish up I have to say I love MAC’s Mineralized Skinfinishes, even though they can get glittery/shimmery, and at times not WOC friendly, they are a beautiful multi-purpose product that everyone(most, some people are allergic 😦 ) will find a use for. The only sad part is they are mostly all limited edition, sometimes hard to find, and can get really pricey. They retail for about $28, but individual sellers(including on ebay) sometimes ask for up to $100! Yes people will bid a lot on these babies, after all they are collectors items. With that said I would never do that, and you shouldn’t either, as MAC does repromote these MSFs, along with new ones, sometimes years later and sometimes weeks later.    

MSFs that are currently available on www.maccosmetics.com are Petticoat, Comfort, Soft & Gentle, and Gold Deposit.     

This is a little snap of me wearing By Candlelight and Petticoat MSFs 🙂    

         

              

 
 
 
 
 
 

            

            

             

             

   
 

         

           

    

     

       

   
 

  

    

   
 
 
 
 

 

About blushingyal

Just a simple, complicated girl, In a simple complicated world. In love with beautiful things, and beautiful people. A mommy, wife and loving life :-) Nuff Luv Blushers....Inside & Out
This entry was posted in Reviews/Overviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MAC Mineralized Skinfinishes(MSF): Overview/Collection

  1. Sherri says:

    I just used the ‘search’ tab awesome!!!!!! it really helps.

  2. Sherri says:

    This was a great post and seeing the swatches helped alot.
    Thanks

  3. bolat says:

    yes your lipstick is really great, I would like to know about it too

  4. Shan says:

    what lipstick are you wearing? it so cute!

Leave a Reply

